How to Unrepost Videos on TikTok: Best Easy Guide

How to unpost videos on tiktok
Credit: Distractify

The TikTok app has grown to become the most popular social media platform since its launch in 2016. With over 1.3 billion active users, it has won the hearts of many and is known for its exciting videos, entertaining trends, and cool features that come with it.

One of these features commonly used by TikTokers is the repost and unrepost feature.

While on the platform, you may have come across video content you enjoyed watching on another user’s page and decided to re-share it with your followers with the help of the re-post feature on the app. But what happens when you change your mind about the repost you made or while scrolling due to the closeness of the button to other functions on the share menu? You may have accidentally reposted a video. You would like to know how to unrepost on TikTok before any of your followers view it.

Easy Step-by-Step Guide to Unrepost Videos on TikTok

  1. Open your profile, then click on the hamburger option to access your settings and privacy.
  2. Click on Settings and Privacy to access your watch history.
  3. Tap Watch History to access all reposts you have made.
  4. When you have found the video, click on the share button on the right side of the screen.
  5. A menu will appear, and Instead of a repost button, a ‘remove repost button’ will be seen on the top left corner. Click on it.
  6. After tapping on the ‘remove repost function’, a confirmation pop-up will appear.
  7. After confirming removal, the video will be unposted.

What Happens When You Unrepost Videos on TikTok?

After following the guidelines necessary to undo a repost on TikTok, it’s not news that reposted videos don’t appear on your profile page, so when an unrepost happens, you can’t really tell, but your followers/friends can because then the content is removed from their ‘for you feed’ and they can no longer view the video.

If you’d like to know how to dabble your way around the repost and unrepost features on the TikTok platform, or perhaps you have lingering questions on how to repost your own videos on Tiktok, how to remove all reposts on TikTok, or you are wondering how long reposts on Tiktok last and would like to know how to turn off the repost on TikTok, you are at the right place because in this article you will be provided with the guidelines and easy steps to these queries.

How to Repost Your Own Videos on TikTok

A lot of TikTok users are already familiar with the repost feature, how it helps them share content from other users with their followers, and how it also helps increase their audience by boosting their engagement on the platform. When it comes down to reposting one of the videos you made on the platform, It is not advisable to adopt the same processes and steps when reposting from another user. Unlike the former, the only way you can repost your own videos is by simply following these easy steps.

  • Visit your profile page and locate the video you wish to repost.
  • After that, you click on the three-dotted icon on the lower right side of the video.
  • A menu of options will appear, and then you tap on the Save option, which automatically saves the video to your gallery.
  • You then proceed to open the gallery app and find the saved video.
  • Open the video and click on the share button at the bottom or top of the screen, depending on your phone’s software.
  • A menu with different apps will open, and then you will click on the TikTok application.
  • You can reupload the video with new captions or hashtags.

And there you have it—very concise and straightforward, I must say. This way, you can easily partake in the benefits tied to reposting your videos on TikTok and watch how your engagement increases, enabling you to attract followers and valuable prospects in no time.

The Use and Benefits of the Repost Feature on TikTok

The TikTok repost feature allows one to easily curate content from another user’s page without having to go through the long process of saving it and re-uploading it.

Aside from that, there are other advantages to the repost features, which include;

  • Increased Visibility to the target audience.
  • It makes networking and building relationships with other influencers easy.
  • It increases engagement and activity on your page.
  • Reposting content from trusted and reliable brands or influencers rubs off on your page.

How to Remove All Reposts on TikTok

Firstly, you should know that when reposting a TikTok video, you won’t find it on your profile page when you want to remove the repost, but it will be seen by your followers on their ‘ for you page’ but have it in mind that when reposting a TikTok video you are crediting the original creator without ripping off their content.

When the need arises, and you deem it important or necessary to know how to unrepost videos made on TikTok, you will need to find the exact videos you reposted. With the following guidelines I’ll be listing, you won’t have any problems removing all your reposts on TikTok.

Easy Steps to Removing All Reposts

  1. Go to your profile and click on the hamburger icon on the right side of the screen.
  2. Navigate to the settings and privacy tab and tap on it.
  3. A list of functions would appear. Somewhere there, you should be able to see the comment and search history when you click on it.
  4. Tap on the watch history that appears; that way, you can see every single video you have watched.
  5. You’ll begin to manually scroll through the grid of videos to find the ones you remember reposting.
  6. When you open those videos, click the share icon on the screen, then proceed to tap the “remove repost option.”

That’s pretty much how you remove all reposts on TikTok; however, if that isn’t enough and you wish to know how to turn off reposts on TikTok, you may want to follow these step-by-step instructions on how to do so.

How to Turn Off Reposts on TikTok

  1. Proceed to the profile icon on the bottom right of the screen.
  2. Tap on the hamburger option on the top right of the screen.
  3. Select settings and privacy.
  4. After selecting the privacy section, you will see a lot of functions. Search for the repost function.
  5. Carefully scroll so as not to miss the repost function.
  6. The video repost section will open.
  7. Click on the repost function.
  8. Disable the repost option by toggling the switch to the right.

That’s how you disable reposts on the TikTok application; that way, you are protecting the privacy of the content you do not want people to repost.

How Long Do Reposts on TikTok Last?

There have been speculations going around concerning the lifespan of a repost made on TikTok.

Since many users can’t view their reposts, they assume that they disappear because of the decline in engagement and activity on that post.

On the other hand, quite a number of other tik tokers disagree with that notion because they had reported that even after a time frame of two weeks, they still received notifications on engagements of that post.

So, where does that leave curious readers?

According to my understanding of how reposts on TikTok work, the answer lies in the watch history of the settings and privacy menu, so when people ask how to unrepost videos on TikTok, there are guidelines to help the readers navigate their way from the profile to the settings and privacy all the way through to the watch history to locate and unrepost videos made on the platform.

In conclusion, there wouldn’t have been an unrepost feature if the designers of the app felt the need to put a disappearing effect on every repost made.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like