How to Remove Vanish Mode on Instagram (Quick Guide)

How to remove vanish mode on Instagram
Credit: TayMing

Vanish Mode on Instagram provides additional privacy for chats and direct messages, but it might be accidentally activated. Here’s how to remove vanish mode on Instagram.

Vanish Mode has been accessible on Facebook Messenger and Instagram for years, but how do users disable it if it is unintentionally enabled? Vanish Mode is similar to Snapchat’s major feature of 24-hour self-erasing messages, which provide more privacy for conversations and direct messaging. Unlike Snapchat, however, Vanish Mode on Instagram must be enabled manually because it is not enabled by default. Other messaging applications, such as WhatsApp and Signal, have similar ‘Disappearing Messages’ features that remove messages after a set length of time.

Let’s take a look at how you can use the Vanish mode to temporarily hide your chatbox.

How to Turn on Vanish Mode From Instagram Messenger

Continue reading to learn how to activate Instagram’s “Vanish mode.” Follow the instructions below:

  • Launch the Instagram app.
  • In the top right corner of your app, tap the “Direct” or “Messenger” icon.
  • Open your friend’s chat box.
  • Drag your finger up from the screen’s bottom.
  • Make the “Vanish” feature available to whomever you wish.
  • When you look again, you’ll notice that all of the messages have vanished.

It is vital to know that the person will be aware if you take a snapshot of a message when it is in “Vanish” mode. If you activate Instagram’s Vanish mode, either party can receive a notification, such as the screen becoming dark and a pop-up appearing.

How to Remove Vanish Mode on Instagram Messenger on Mobile

If you want to know how to turn off vanish mode, follow these steps:

  • Launch the Instagram app on your device.
  • Open the chat window of the friend whose “vanish mode” you enabled.
  • Drag your finger up from the bottom of your screen once more.
  • Tap to exit the disappearing mode.
  • You’ll see that the Vanish mode has been disabled.

How to Remove Vanish Mode on Instagram Messenger on PC

  • To disable Vanish Mode on the computer desktop, perform the following steps:
  • Open a chat with Vanish Mode enabled.
  • To exit Vanish Mode, swipe up from the bottom of the screen and hold it until you see the word “Release.”
  • Vanish Mode will be disabled if you swipe up all the way.
  • All of the messages you’ve viewed will be gone when you close your chat window.

If the feature does not appear to work, make sure your app is up to date. Even if you have the most up-to-date version of Instagram, you may be unable to use Vanish Mode because it is not accessible in your location.

Is Instagram’s Vanish Mode Permanent?

Only the messages and files you send after using Vanish Mode will vanish. Other messages you send when Vanish Mode is turned off will remain until you delete them.

How Do I Permanently Turn Off Vanish Mode on Messenger?

  • Check that the chat is in Vanish Mode. Look at the circle with dots and the contact’s name to figure out who they are.
  • Vanish Mode can be turned off by swiping up and letting go of the screen.
  • Your screen will return to normal when you click “Seen> disappearing messages,” and you will be able to see the unread messages delivered in Vanish Mode.
  • When you exit Vanish Mode, all of the messages you’ve viewed will vanish.

Can the Other Person Turn Off Vanish Mode?

Both the sender and the recipient go into “vanish mode,” which means they can’t be found or contacted. They will be quickly transferred to a different screen with the words “Vanish mode” written on the conversation.  Furthermore, the other participant can disable Vanish at any time.

Can I Remove Seen From Instagram?

Fortunately for those who want to maintain their privacy while using this popular social media platform, Instagram allow users to disable read receipt feature. 

How to Turn Off Instagram Read Receipts

Disabling read receipts on Instagram is a simple procedure. To disable read receipts, simply follow these easy steps:

Step 1: Launch Instagram.

The first step is to launch the Instagram app on your smartphone. If you don’t already have the app, you can get it from the App Store or Google Play Store.

Step 2: Go to Your Profile

Then, in the bottom right corner of the screen, press on your profile image. This will open your profile page.

Step 3: Go to the Settings menu.

Once on your profile page, tap the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of the screen. This brings up the Instagram menu. Scroll down and click the “Settings” button at the bottom of the menu.

Step 4: Choose Privacy.

Go to the Settings menu and choose “Privacy.”

Step 5: Disable Read Receipts

You’ll find a “Read Receipts” option under the “Connections” section. Toggle the adjacent switch to the off position.

That’s all there is to it! You have successfully disabled Instagram read receipts. People who send you direct messages will no longer know whether or not you have viewed their message.

How Do You Unseen a Message on Instagram After Seeing It?

Unreading messages will not remove the “seen” status. There’s no way to “unsee” a message once you’ve read it. To read a message without the sender knowing, open it offline, then log out of Instagram before reconnecting.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like