How to Make a Group on Snapchat: All You Should Know

how to add captions to reels
Credit: BollyInside

Ever wanted to share a snap and also converse about it with your friends at the same time?

Well, we’re here to teach you how to create a group chat on Snapchat.

Snapchat is a well-known and innovative social media app. Snapchat pioneered many of the features used in popular social networking apps today, such as AR selfie filters, stories, and geo-filters. The multimedia messaging app was also quick to provide its users with group chat options.

Whether you and your pals have the best Android phones or iPhones, you can keep up with them and share exciting encounters with Snapchat’s Group Chat function. Let us walk you through the process of creating a Snapchat group chat if you haven’t already. 

How to Make a Group Chat on Snapchat

If you know where to begin, creating and managing group chats on Snapchat is very simple. 

Here’s a step-by-step guide to creating a Snapchat group chat:

  1. Launch the Snapchat app on your phone.
  1. On the Snapchat Friends screen, tap the chat bubble. Go to the Friends screen and tap the chat bubble in the upper right corner.
  1. Start a new group chat. On the Snapchat Chat screen, tap ‘New Group’. 
  2. Add members to your group chat. Begin typing the names of the people you wish to add to the Snapchat group chat (a group chat can have up to 31 friends). After you’ve added your Snapchat Friends, give the group a name and then tap ‘Chat with Group’ when you’re done.
  3. You’ve now made a Snapchat group! You can use Snap, Chat, Call, or Video Call to communicate with your grind all in one spot. Isn’t it amazing?

How to Add People to a Snapchat Group Chat

A group chat on Snapchat can have up to 100 members. Here’s how to add new participants to a Snapchat group chat after you’ve created it: The process for adding people varies slightly between Android phones and iPhones. So, we divided the steps into portions for both mobile platforms.

Adding Members to Android Phones

  • Tap the group name or icon at the top of the group chat to open it.
  • Select the Add Members option.
  • Select the contacts you want to include in the group.
  • To add them, press the Done button.

Adding Members on iPhones

  • Open the group chat where you want to add extra people.
  • If you haven’t started a chat conversation in the group, you’ll see the Add Members button. To add more members, tap Add Members.
  • Tap the group icon in the upper-left corner if a conversation has begun in the group chat.
  • Tap the Add button to the right of Group Members.
  • Tap the Done button to save changes after selecting the friends you want to add to the group chat.

How to Mute or Leave Snapchat Group Chats

The continuous notifications of group chats can be annoying and distracting when you need to focus on work or other important activities. Mute your group conversations in such cases to quiet the notifications. If, on the other hand, you are a member of a group chat that you dislike, you should leave the group. Here’s how to mute or leave Snapchat group chats on Android and iPhone.

Mute or Exit Group Chats on Snapchat for Android.

  • Tap the group name or icon at the top of the group chat to open it.
  • In the upper-right corner, tap the three-dot menu.
  • Tap Message Notifications to silence the chat.
  • Select Mentions Only if you only want to be notified when someone mentions you.
  • To silence all notifications, select Silent.
  • Tap Leave Group to exit a group chat.
  • To confirm, use the Leave button.

Mute or Exit Group on Snapchat for an iPhone.

  • Tap the group name or icon to open the group chat.
  • In the upper-right corner, tap the three-dot menu.
  • Select the “Leave Group” option to exit a group chat.
  •  To leave the group, press the “leave” button.
  • Tap “Chat Settings” to mute the chat.
  • Select “All Messages” from the option.
  • Select “Mentions You” to only receive a notification if someone mentions you in the chat.
  • To disable all notifications, select “Silent”.

How Snapchat Groups Function

Now that you’ve started a group chat, let me explain how it works:

  • Anyone in the group can see your Snaps and messages; when a member views a Chat, their name will display below.
  • Chats sent to the group, like Snapchat Stories, will be automatically removed after 24 hours. Don’t miss out on what your friends have to say!
  • Unfortunately, you cannot use Snaps sent to the group chat to maintain individual Snapstreaks; instead, you must Snap those individual Snapchatters to maintain streaks.
  • If you want to modify the group name, add members to the group chat, adjust notification settings, or leave the Snapchat group, press the three horizontal lines in the top left corner of the group chat screen and make the changes you desire. 

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like