How To Block On Snapchat

how to block on snapchat
Image by Freepik

It’s getting easier to block someone on Snapchat as the days go by. but if you’re still having issues with blocking or unblocking someone on Snapchat, this article is for you. The steps are outlined below:

How To Block Someone on Snapchat

It only takes a minute to block someone on Snapchat, and here’s how to do it:

  • Open Snapchat and sign in, then swipe right to the Chat page.
  • Select a friend to initiate a chat, then tap their profile.
  • Tap Manage Friendship after clicking the three-dots icon.
  • Tap Block, and confirm your action.

That’s all it takes to block someone.

Will They Know You’ve Blocked Them on Snapchat?

When you block someone on Snapchat, they may not realize it right away because Snapchat does not provide a signal that they have been blocked. However, they eventually find out owing to changes in your Snapchat behavior.

These changes include your account being deleted, not being able to access your articles, and even being unable to text you. They will need to follow the process of how to tell whether someone blocked you on Snapchat in order to confirm this.

What Happens on Snapchat When You Block Someone?

When you block someone on Snapchat, the following happens:

  • The blocked user is unable to initiate a conversation with you.
  • They are unable to view your story.
  • If they choose to search your account, they will be unable to locate it.
  • They’ll be unable to send you photos or videos.

Blocking people on Snapchat stops them from contacting you through their Snapchat account. In general, they are unaware of your Snapchat account or activity.

What Are the Alternatives to Snapchat Blocking?

When you want to completely avoid contact with someone, blocking them is the best option. However, this extreme alternative isn’t always the best one. As a result, if you don’t want to completely cut off contact with someone, you can choose one of the following less restricted options:

#1. Remove from the Friends list

If you don’t want to lose contact with someone on Snapchat but don’t want them to read private stories, delete them from your friend list. It allows you to connect with them in a limited way, which means they may still see your public stories and send you snaps and chats (depending on your settings).

To do this, follow the same steps as for blocking someone, but instead of selecting Block on the Menu, select Remove Friend.

#2. Allow only friends to contact you.

It’s a different option than deleting someone from your Snapchat friend list.

People who aren’t your Snap friends may send you snaps and chat messages in an attempt to chat with you. Furthermore, they can view your stories, which isn’t always a good thing. You may stop this by going to your privacy settings and changing your privacy settings. Set just your friends to send you conversations or snaps, and you may also limit who can access your tales to your pals.

Here’s how to do it.

  • Launch Snapchat.
  • In the upper-left corner of your screen, tap the profile symbol.
  • To access the settings, tap the setting/gear icon.
  • Scroll down to the Who Can section after that.
  • Select ‘My friends’ from the ‘Contact Me’ menu to allow only your friend to contact you.
  • After that, return to ‘View My Story’ and select ‘My Friends.’ By pressing on ‘Custom,’ you may specify who among your friends can and cannot see your stories.

#3. Use the ‘Do Not Disturb’ feature.

You’ve undoubtedly seen this function on the Menu we mentioned in options 1 and 2.

This option is less limiting and excellent when you still want to be friends with someone but don’t want chat notifications to disturb your day. By enabling this option, they can still send you chats and snaps, but you will not receive notifications.

This function is analogous to turning off app notifications, which limits notifications from friends or group conversations.

Can You Unblock Someone You’ve Blocked on Snapchat?

You very certainly can.

To do so, navigate to your account’s list of blocked users. The instructions below will show you how to unblock someone on Snapchat.

  • Launch Snapchat and sign in if necessary.
  • Your username and Bitmoji can be seen in the upper-left corner of your screen; tap on either.
  • Go to Settings by tapping the gear symbol in the top-right corner of your screen.
  • Go to Account Actions by swiping up and selecting Blocked.
  • This will provide a list of people you’ve blocked. Unblock someone by tapping on the far right side of their username.
  • A confirmation prompt will display; press “Yes,” and their username will be removed from the list immediately.

Why Is Snapchat Blocking So Important?

Blocking someone on Snapchat is a personal security feature that you can use to limit your relationship with another individual. It is a crucial privacy and security measure for everyone, but especially for parents who want to limit who their children communicate with. As you are aware, social media may be a positive stage, but it can also be destructive.

You can protect your children as a parent by using Parental Control programs like AirDroid. This advanced parental program includes all of the functionality required to track and monitor your children’s gadgets.

Unblocking Someone on Snapchat

You can’t look for their names and then unblock them on Snapchat because barring them hides their accounts from you and yours from them. Instead, go to Snapchat settings and see your list of blocked users. This is how.

  • Tap your Bitmoji or username in the upper-left corner of the screen to open Snapchat.
  • To access Settings, tap the gear symbol in the upper-right corner.
  • Swipe up to access the Account Actions menu, then press Blocked.
  • You’ll see a list of persons whose usernames you’ve blocked. Tap the X that appears to the right of the person’s username you want to unblock.
  • Snapchat requests confirmation. If you want to unblock this person, tap Yes.
  • When you unblock someone, their name is removed from your Blocked list.

What Should You Do After Unblocking Someone?

All contact between you and the blocked user is terminated, and the person is removed from your Friends list. After unblocking, you’ll need to find the friend and re-add them.

To do so, type the username into the top search area, then tap Add to the right of the profile image and username. If the friend isn’t a public user, they must also add you back.

What Are the Restrictions on Blocking and Unblocking Users?

Snapchat has been known to impose time limits on users who re-add friends who have recently been removed or blocked. As a result, if you banned, unblocked, and tried to re-add them in a short period of time, Snapchat may prevent you from doing so for 24 hours.

Do Blocked People Know When You Unblock Them?

Snapchat does not notify users when they are blocked or unblocked, but they may figure it out. For example, if someone sees that your Snapchat account has vanished, they may look for you on another Snapchat account and establish that you were blocked. They may understand you’re adding them back if they notice a fresh friend request from you.

Is There an Alternative to Blocking People On Snapchat?

Silence alerts instead of temporarily breaking off all contact with someone and then re-adding each other as friends. If you enable this option for a buddy, they will remain on your Friends list. You’ll still get snaps and conversations, but none of the notifications that come with them.

To turn off Snapchat notifications, enter their contact page by clicking the icon next to their name. Once on their contact page, pick Message Notifications from the three-dotted menu at the top. Select Silent.

When You Block Someone on Snapchat, Do They Know?

If someone bans you, you will not be notified directly. You may discover that you are no longer viewing their tales, that you are unable to locate their username, and that they appear to have vanished from the app. They may still appear in your chat history, but you won’t be able to snap them.

When Someone Blocks You on Snapchat, Do You Still Message Them?

By blocking, you are severing all relationships with that person. If you have been removed or unadded, you can still view that user’s profile and access your saved discussions. When you send a message to them, it will appear as pending and will not be sent successfully.

  1. How to Allow Camera Access on Snapchat: (Simple Guide)
  2. How to Hack Someone’s Snapchat Account: A Detailed Guide
  3. How To Tell If Someone Has Snapchat Plus
  4. How to Remove Vanish Mode on Instagram (Quick Guide)

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like